Monday, March 18, 2013

The Spinners Lead Singer Passes at 76

The Spinners aka The Detroit Spinners lost it's 4th original member, Bobby (Bobbie) Smith on Saturday, March 16th.

It's so sad when you find that one of your favorite artists have died. The Thursday prior to his passing, I was one of the lucky ones to have just seen The Spinners perform here in the Seattle area. During the show, t was announced that Bobby was feeling under the weather and would not be a part of that evening's show.  I was so disappointed because having been brought up at the height of The Spinners career, I was looking forward to seeing Bobby sing some of my favorite songs, such as "I'll Be Around," "Could It Be I'm Falling In Love," "Games People Play" and others.

This great artist will be missed!
Condolences to his family, friends and fellow members of The Spinners.

Check out my article at Vinyl Radio for a recap of the show.

Whosoever South Blends Country and Hip Hop with a Gospel Message on Debut Album “Goin’ Home”

March 18, 2013

Whosoever South Blends Country and Hip Hop with a Gospel Message on Debut Album “Goin’ Home”Album drops May 14th. Debut Single, “Where We From,” is available now at iTunes.

(NASHVILLE, Tennessee) -- Straight out of southern Georgia, Whosoever South blends country and hip hop with a Gospel message on their debut album, Goin’ Home, due May 14th from Pit Bull Productions. Produced by Asaf Fulks (Young Jeezy, Lil Wayne, Tyga, Courtney Stodden), Goin’ Home can only be classified as a genre all it’s own: Country Crunk.

Whosoever South combines street savvy influences like TobyMac and Lecrae with country and bluegrass styles similar to the T Bone Burnett-produced O Brother Where Art Thou soundtrack, for an unconventional but infectious bass-thumping sound that serves as the catalyst for a dynamic ministry already making a major impact throughout the south.

Husband and wife Rowdy Eunice and Sarah Eunice along with longtime musical partner Mike Mitchell make up Whosoever South. While the group is firmly rooted in ministry, their beginnings were not as well-intentioned. A decade ago, the trio was involved in a regionally successful mainstream act known as Solid Ground, and they were opening for major artists such as Kanye West, Outkast, Ciara and Goodie Mob. Major record labels were interested in moving forward, but the group’s personal lives were spiraling out of control.

“It was so close to breaking big that it was scary,” Rowdy says of Solid Ground. “But many of the people we were in business with wound up dead or in prison and all of that fell apart, which wound up saving our lives in more ways than one.”

As everyone was separately sobering up from the world of parties, drugs and music industry excesses, Rowdy and Sarah found themselves in church by 2006, where they dedicated their lives to Christ. Mike eventually found his way there as well. Despite being on the verge of stardom prior to becoming born again, music was the furthest thing from their minds as they dug deep into the word and simply strove to get their lives on track. But God had other goals for the longtime collaborators.

In 2008, the trio reunited as Whosoever South, which was inspired by John 3:16 and Romans 10:13, coupled with a nod to their southern roots. After hundreds of concerts and a large regional fan base, the group is finally stepping into the national spotlight with their full-length album, Goin’ Home.

“It’s like a genre all its own because we don’t fit into any one genre,” says Rowdy of the group’s sound. “It’s not really been done before, but it’s not all that complicated either. It’s just a combination of good music: country, bluegrass, gospel and rap music all mixed together.”

A perfect example is the lead single “Where We From,” which talks about the group’s unceasing work ethic amidst a simple southern lifestyle filled with dirt roads, farms and good old-fashioned food. On a more evangelistic note, “All The Time” is a bluegrass/gospel/country stomper encouraging believers to let their light shine, while the title track is a down home jam with an equally assertive message.

“When we wrote Goin’ Home, we wanted to get that old bluesy type of feel from back in the day,” says Rowdy. “We wanted to remind listeners that this world is not our home and that one day we’ll leave here and go to our final destination. Hopefully it will be a reminder to not get caught up in the stresses of daily living, but a reminder that we’re just passing through.”

# # #

Friday, March 8, 2013

Scott Krippayne's Hymns

What can be said of an artist who records and releases "another" hymns album? 
Maybe the reactions out there might be, "oh no, do we really need another album on hymns?" 

Okay, I'll be truthful. . . I've been known to say that a few times.
Maybe because, I'm thinking the classic hymns are going to be given some new twist to make them interesting to the listener or the artist wants to get alittle artsy with them.

Well let me tell you. . . you won't find that here. 

Long time singer / songwriter Scott Krippayne, whose 2007 song "This Is My Now" co-written by Jeff Peabody and sung by American Idol's Jordin Sparks and Blake Lewis, has taken a chance by releasing his own, "Hymns." 

Don't Try and Reinvent the Wheel

I love the title. . . "Hymns." 

What you see is what you get! 

Hymns are as American as "Baseball, French Fries, Apple Pie and Chevrolet."
HAHAHA! Sorry. . .I couldn't resist. 
If you're as old as I am, you'll know where that line comes from. : )

Seriously, this is what I consider, a true, naked and honest album of the hymns.
So beautiful and refreshing. Scott takes me to that place where I can imagine how these songs would have been heard in their original compositions. All the songs are just Scott and his piano except for the bonus tracks. He seems to take a few liberties within each song, but they so subtle. Scott's bonus tracks are his own. These are a great addition to this album. Love them! I've always loved Scott's vocal tone. It's almost rockin', espe when he sings "Worthy Are You." He is crying out there! I can feel it. I wanna sing it!! Love it. . .oh wait. . . I just said that. Well, I do.

1.   Come Thou Long Expected Jesus
2.   Nothing But the Blood
3.   O Sacred Head Now Wounded
4.   Crown Him With Many Crowns
5.   All Hail the Power of Jesus Name
6.   The Solid Rock
7.   Stricken Smitten and Afflicted
8.   Come Ye Sinners
9.   A Hymn of Glory
10. All Praise to God
11. Were You There
12. Holy Holy Holy
13. Jesus Christ Is Risen Today
14. Hymn 14
Bonus Tracks
15. Worthy Are You
16. Reign Forever

Do yourself a favor and listen to this all the way through. It's so lovely. 

Scott's Facebook