Sunday, October 27, 2013

Sugaray Rayford Tears it Up with Kevin Selfe & The Tornadoes at Seattle's Highway 99 Blues Club

Ending an 9 day tour and what he called; barely able to sing, Sugaray Rayford, of The Mannish Boys showed everybody how blues is supposed to be sung. And seeing him at Highway 99 Blues Club in Seattle, Saturday night, Oct. 26, 2013 was the place to see Sugaray tear the roof off that sucker with a sold out crowd ready to cut a rug on the dance floor or move in their seats or just dance and sway in their happy spot.

Highway 99 Blues Club is definitely "thee" place  hear the blues live.  The crowd was ready to get down, but I don't think they really knew what they were getting themselves into.

Talking to some around me, I was pleasantly surprised to find that several had come out to see him live because they'd seen him on Youtube. They did know about Kevin Selfe and The Tornadoes. What a band!

Figuring that this is how he was discovered by blues lovers up here in the Northwest via Youtube, I figured I'd write less and show you what I recorded instead. With Kevin Selfe and The Tornadoes setting the tone, you will see he is dead serious about getting down.  You might even see him twerk a bit. Dang, the man can move!

You know you feelin' the love when Ed from Highway 99 comes up to bring you a tray of red beans and rice with some cornbread!! Ha!! This was great because Sugaray was telling us all about it before Ed walked up!! GREAT! Oh and don't mind me. . .I'm just singing with everyone else and that's how Sugaray likes it. . . group participation.

A beautiful rendition of a Son House classic, you get the feeling that you are sitting on a front porch somewheres, listening to a man moan for his love while his friend Kevin also makes his guitar moans with sadness.

Sugaray is one of the most powerful blues singers alive. He can belt it out, with feeling! He's a talented blues man who is one of those rare and true embodiments of the authentic blues singer - and his wild performance and emotional delivery makes that obvious. His pairing with Kevin Selfe was a great combination; the entire band was having a great time on stage and Kevin was just ripping it up on guitar.  If you're a guitar player like my husband, put him in your "must see" list since he's got the chops and the feeling to go with it.

If you haven't heard it, check out his new album, "Dangerous" which I believe is out now.

From the reaction of the crowd, I have a feeling it won't be too long before we see Sugaray Rayford up here again.


FACEBOOK                                          MYSPACE



Saturday, October 26, 2013

It's "Dangerously Close" for BLOODGOOD

Christian Rockers, BLOODGOOD are making a strong comeback with their first studio album in over 20 years with "DANGEOUSLY CLOSE." These pioneers in the Christian/White metal scene haven't lost their touch and look better than ever!

Check out the new video, "Lamb of God."

Watch for the album to be released in late November.
Can't wait for the late release? 
Go right to the source and get it after November 1st!

Download of "Lamb of God" is available NOW! 

Tuesday, October 22, 2013


I've been a fan of this man for over 30 years.
So happy to make this announcement!
Congratulations Gary!

October 22, 2013

Chapman’s first studio album in over a decade, due November 5th from Merf Music Group, features special appearances by Alison Krauss, John Rich, Tanya Tucker, Rebecca Lynn Howard and more.

(NASHVILLE, Tennessee) -- Award-winning singer-songwriter Gary Chapman returns with THE TRUTH, due on November 5th from Music Row-based Merf Music Group and distribution partners Elevate Entertainment and Syntax Distribution. The long-anticipated collection of songs is the first studio album from Chapman since 2002.

THE TRUTH features sixteen new studio recordings, with special vocal appearances from some of Chapman’s friends and family. Allison Krauss joins him on “If God Had a Front Porch,” John Rich and Tanya Tucker show up on “The Rough Crowd,” and Rebecca Lynn Howard sits in on “When I Say.” On a more personal level, Chapman’s daughter Sarah sings on “Put it in His Hands,” and his wife Cassie duets on the Christmas-themed, “All About a Baby.”

For well over three decades, Chapman has seamlessly blurred the lines of contemporary Christian pop, country and southern gospel, racking up an impressive list of Dove Awards, GRAMMY nominations and writing credits for legendary artists such as Kenny Rogers, Alabama and Wynonna. Chapman is also widely remembered as the host of TNN’s popular “Prime Time Country” television series and the “Sam’s Place” concert series and radio program.

While it’s been a decade since Chapman’s last studio album, he has hardly sat idle. Chapman wrote, produced and directed the documentary “The 8th of November” for country duo Big & Rich, successfully helmed the content assets of professional football’s “School of the Legends,” and launched the popular “A Hymn A Week” online song and stories series, which was inspired by singing many of gospel music’s timeless standards at his ailing father’s bedside during his final days.

“Singing those hymns I grew up with helped me remember what music is for,” recalls Chapman. “This project has nothing to do with money, but everything to do with genuinely touching someone’s heart and offering healing. I have no delusions of grandeur at this point in my life and I am pleasantly embracing a place where it really doesn’t matter a whole lot to me what anybody thinks, and I say that with zero arrogance or perceived distance.”

Chapman has been busy at home as well. He and wife Cassie just welcomed the birth of their adopted baby daughter, Eva Rose, earlier this year, while the proud father continues to beam with pride over his son Matt and daughters Sarah and Millie, who’ve since spread their wings for school and successful careers respectively.

THE TRUTH is the most transparent window into Chapman’s heart and soul throughout his entire career, and even if it doesn’t match the past’s multi-platinum sales statistics, he simply hopes it will show listeners his true self. “My family is my life, they’re everything to me really, and my local church is also a primary focus where I serve as an elder,” says Chapman. “I’m excited for people to hear what I have to say about it all and I’m also very anxious to get back on the road, not only to play, but also to connect with everyone again after all this time. I just want to keep singing. It’s one of the things I was born to do.”

THE TRUTH track listing:
1. Freedom
2. Where You’re Going
3. If God Had a Front Porch (featuring Alison Krauss)
4. Ain’t Got a Prayer
5. How Great a God
6. Safe from the Wind
7. Widow of the South
8. Put it in His Hands (featuring Sarah Chapman)
9. All About a Baby (featuring Cassie Chapman)
10. Wisdom of Age
11. Everything I Know
12. When I Say (featuring Rebecca Lynn Howard)
13. I Didn’t Find Jesus
14. That’s God
15. Twenty Bucks Away
16. The Rough Crowd (featuring Tanya Tucker and John Rich)

For more information, visit the official website at